not<\/b> licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. If you find any tutorials that don’t list the strumming pattern, that means it’s up to you. Chords Easy is guitar chords library, guitar tabs, bass tabs, ukulele chords. How hard should I press down on the strings? Most players use their middle, index, and ring fingers to reach the highest strings (G (4) and C (3)) and move the same fingers to hold down the strings underneath it. ", "I liked learning the different chords, that's what I needed to know. Now I'm an expert! I spend about an hour a day practicing and I stop myself in the middle of a song if my tune or singing or chord is off. This image is not<\/b> licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. On chord diagrams and beginner sheet music, you will usually see the numbers and letters. ", "It really helped me as a beginner. The majority of ukulele players are playing on nylons, and if you are new to ukulele, than nylon is the best choice. Down, down up, down, down up — With this pattern, the up strums turn a 4 beat into a 2 beat. Pick up a capo once you get good at playing. Watch breaking news videos, viral videos and original video clips on CNN.com. Everybody usually starts with nylon strings. This image is not<\/b> licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. If your hands are on the smaller side and you can’t reach the string on top from underneath, hold your thumb vertically against the back of the neck instead. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyright holder of this image under U.S. and international copyright laws. On traditional sheet music, the downstrum is represented by a square missing its bottom side and up strums are indicated with a “V” shape. It may feel a bit like you’re making a claw with your hand. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyr